Dogpatch and Potrero Point

Neighborhood: Dogpatch

Description

No one knows for certain how it got the name Dogpatch — Once the home of iron works, shipyards and other heavy industry, contemporary development is transforming this area to a lively mixed use district.

View historic working-class cottages add industrial age relics. Preview Pier 70’s transformation from an abandoned maritime industrial complex to a new mixed use development. We’ll delve into its colorful past, featuring fascinating stories of its original working-class population and its powerful role during World War II.

It’s a designated Historic District you simply can’t miss.

Next Tours

  • Sunday, April 14 at 11:00 am (No Tour Today)
  • Sunday, April 21 at 11:00 am given by Zachary B.Sign Up
  • Wednesday, April 24 at 11:00 am given by Teresa O.Sign Up
  • Sunday, April 28 at 11:00 am given by Kavita S.Sign Up
  • Sunday, May 5 at 11:00 am given by Teresa O.Sign Up
  • Sunday, May 12 at 11:00 am given by Rose K.Sign Up
  • Sunday, May 19 at 11:00 am given by Stephen S.Sign Up
  • Sunday, May 26 at 11:00 am given by Carolyn R.Sign Up
  • Wednesday, May 29 at 11:00 am given by Teresa O.Sign Up
  • Sunday, June 2 at 11:00 am given by Stephen S.Sign Up
View Calendar

Notes

Tour Length: Approximately 1-1/2 to 2 hours

Location

Meet at Illinois and 20th Streets. Muni 15, 48, 55, or KT-3rd.

Click the map to view full version on Google Maps
View Transit Directions on Google Maps >>

Please note: Private group tours required for groups of 8 or more.