Dogpatch and Potrero Point

Neighborhood: Dogpatch

Description

No one knows for certain how it got the name Dogpatch — Once the home of iron works, shipyards and other heavy industry, contemporary development is transforming this area to a lively mixed use district.

View historic working-class cottages add industrial age relics. Preview Pier 70’s transformation from an abandoned maritime industrial complex to a new mixed use development. We’ll delve into its colorful past, featuring fascinating stories of its original working-class population and its powerful role during World War II.

It’s a designated Historic District you simply can’t miss.

Next Tours

  • Sunday, October 2 at 11:00 am given by Kavita SrinivasanSign Up
  • Sunday, October 16 at 11:00 am given by Stephen SingerSign Up
  • Sunday, October 23 at 11:00 am given by Teresa OjedaSign Up
  • Sunday, October 30 at 11:00 am given by Carolyn RaisnerSign Up
  • Sunday, November 6 at 11:00 am given by Zachary BrowneSign Up
  • Sunday, November 13 at 11:00 am given by Rose KoveleskySign Up
  • Sunday, November 20 at 11:00 am given by Stephen SingerSign Up
  • Sunday, December 4 at 11:00 am given by Teresa OjedaSign Up
  • Sunday, December 11 at 11:00 am given by Rose KoveleskySign Up
  • Sunday, December 18 at 11:00 am given by Zachary BrowneSign Up
View Calendar

Notes

Tour Length: Approximately 1-1/2 to 2 hours

Location

Meet at Illinois and 20th Streets. Muni 15, 48, 55, or KT-3rd.

Click the map to view full version on Google Maps
View Transit Directions on Google Maps >>

Please note: Private groups tours required for groups of 8 or more.