Gold Rush City

Neighborhood: Downtown

Description

“Gold! Gold from the American River!”, shouted San Francisco businessman Sam Brannan, as he ran down Montgomery Street in May,1848, waving a jar filled with gold over his head, sparking the Gold Rush. As word spread rapidly around the world, the tiny village of San Francisco, tucked amidst massive sand dunes by the Bay, and frequented by grizzly bears and mountain lions, was transformed virtually overnight into a booming instant city.

Learn about the incredible fires, gangs, vigilantes, shanghaiing, the Pony Express and the larger-than-life characters, like Mark Twain, Emperor Norton, and Levi Strauss, who walked the famously muddy streets. Walk above the fleet of abandoned ships, still full of cargo, buried beneath today’s skyscrapers. Hear how the Gold Rush sparked the largest peacetime migration in world history, catapulting California into statehood. Discover how treasure seekers converged from over a dozen nations around the world with diverse languages and customs to create the dynamic and tolerant character of the multi ethnic city we see today.

Next Tours

  • Sunday, November 28 at 2:00 pm given by Roger HoosonSign Up
  • Wednesday, December 1 at 1:30 pm given by Harlan HirschfeldSign Up
  • Friday, December 3 at 1:30 pm given by Robert MillsSign Up
  • Sunday, December 5 at 2:00 pm given by Peter VlietSign Up
  • Wednesday, December 8 at 1:30 pm given by Stephen JacobsonSign Up
  • Friday, December 10 at 1:30 pm given by Tim ElamSign Up
  • Sunday, December 12 at 2:00 pm given by Mike PalmerSign Up
  • Wednesday, December 15 at 1:30 pm given by Stephen JacobsonSign Up
  • Friday, December 17 at 1:30 pm given by Robert MillsSign Up
  • Sunday, December 19 at 2:00 pm given by Stephen JacobsonSign Up
  • Wednesday, December 22 at 1:30 pm given by Tim ElamSign Up
  • Friday, December 24 at 1:30 pm given by Roger HoosonSign Up
  • Sunday, December 26 at 2:00 pm given by Robert MillsSign Up
  • Wednesday, December 29 at 1:30 pm given by Roger HoosonSign Up
  • Friday, December 31 at 1:30 pm given by Tim ElamSign Up
View Calendar

Notes

Tour Length: Approximately 1-1/2 to 2 hours

 

Location

Meet on the northeast corner of Clay & Montgomery at the Transamerica Pyramid.

 

Click the map to view full version on Google Maps
View Transit Directions on Google Maps >>

Please note: Private groups tours required for groups of 8 or more.