Mission Dolores Neighborhood

Neighborhood: Mission

Description

See a mix of treasures in one of San Francisco’s most vibrant and oldest neighborhoods, starting at the famous golden fire hydrant heralded with saving the Mission District during the 1906 earthquake. Enjoy one of the most iconic views of the city from Dolores Park while discovering its colorful history. Get a mini-immersion course in Victorians, walk along the gentrifying Valencia Street corridor, be dazzled by a sampling of murals, and learn about the Indigenous peoples of San Francisco and the impact of Spanish and Mexican colonization. See the oldest intact building in San Francisco, Mission Saint Francis of Assisi.

Travel through time with us. You will deepen appreciation of the area’s original residents, understand the enduring impact of the Gold Rush and 1906 earthquake, and become aware of the waves of immigration and activism that have shaped the neighborhood and make it a microcosm of San Francisco.

 

 

Next Tours

  • Sunday, March 10 at 10:30 am given by Anshu G.Sign Up
  • Friday, March 15 at 1:00 pm given by Matt F.Sign Up
  • Sunday, March 17 at 10:30 am given by Bill G.Sign Up
  • Friday, March 22 at 1:00 pm given by Joan S.Sign Up
  • Sunday, March 24 at 10:30 am given by Joanna T.Sign Up
  • Friday, March 29 at 1:00 pm given by Matt F.Sign Up
  • Sunday, March 31 at 10:30 am given by Justin R.Sign Up
  • Friday, April 5 at 1:00 pm given by Joan S.Sign Up
  • Sunday, April 7 at 10:30 am given by Christine G.Sign Up
  • Sunday, April 14 at 10:30 am given by Renee B.Sign Up
View Calendar

Notes

Tour Length: Approximately 1-1/2 to 2 hours.

Location

Meet at the gold-painted fire hydrant, SE corner of Church and 20th St.

Public transport: J Church

 

Click the map to view full version on Google Maps
View Transit Directions on Google Maps >>

Please note: Private group tours required for groups of 8 or more.