1850’s San Francisco: Paris Of The Pacific

Neighborhood: Downtown

Description

Everyone in France heard the rumors. Or saw the news reports “of gold mines…fabulous riches awaiting only the hands of miners to be picked up.” Some packed their bags and set off for California. These French left their mark on the culture of the booming city. The French influenced society, especially in food and fashion. Without them, it’s hard to imagine San Francisco becoming our sophisticated, cosmopolitan metropolis.

We will walk through the heart of Gold Rush San Francisco and learn the stories of some of the thousands of French who influenced the City’s development with restaurants, bakeries, shops, laundries, banks and bordellos. From the Gold Rush to today, San Francisco has been the “Paris of the Pacific!”

Next Tours

  • Saturday, December 3 at 11:00 am given by Anne HitzSign Up
  • Saturday, December 10 at 11:00 am given by Rose FeeneySign Up
  • Tuesday, December 13 at 11:00 am given by Carol WalkerSign Up
  • Saturday, December 17 at 11:00 am given by Daniel McFarlandSign Up
  • Sunday, December 18 at 11:00 am given by Andrew TuttleSign Up
  • Monday, December 26 at 10:00 am given by Bruce BennettSign Up
  • Saturday, January 7 at 11:00 am given by Rose FeeneySign Up
  • Tuesday, January 10 at 11:00 am given by Carol WalkerSign Up
  • Saturday, January 14 at 11:00 am given by Susan SpellmanSign Up
  • Saturday, January 21 at 11:00 am given by Daniel McFarlandSign Up
View Calendar

Notes

Tour Length: Approximately 1-1/2 to 2 hours

 

Location

Meet at the corner of Clay and Montgomery at the Transamerica Pyramid

 

Click the map to view full version on Google Maps
View Transit Directions on Google Maps >>

Please note: Private groups tours required for groups of 8 or more.