Castro: Tales Of The Village

Neighborhood: Castro

Description

When Harvey Milk won his historic 1977 race for the Board of Supervisors, he ran the campaign out of his humble Castro District camera shop. For the past decade, a vibrant gay community had been taking root in the Castro — one that would come to transform San Francisco politics out of sheer collective willpower.

But long before it popped onto the national stage, the Castro was just dairy farms and dirt roads. Follow its journey through Scandinavian, and Irish hands, immigrants who started businesses, social organizations and political groups to create a community of their own.

You’ll learn about the evolution of the Castro’s architecture, historic businesses and the people and places that played a role in making the Castro one of the epicenters of the gay rights movement — a tradition that continues today.

Next Tours

  • Saturday, February 4 at 11:00 am given by Bonnie McGregorSign Up
  • Sunday, February 5 at 11:00 am given by Marilyn FloresSign Up
  • Tuesday, February 7 at 11:00 am given by Julia ParianSign Up
  • Saturday, February 11 at 11:00 am given by Jann ReedSign Up
  • Sunday, February 12 at 11:00 am given by Russell TorresSign Up
  • Tuesday, February 14 at 11:00 am given by Matthew HermannSign Up
  • Saturday, February 18 at 11:00 am given by John NockelsSign Up
  • Sunday, February 19 at 11:00 am given by Bonnie McGregorSign Up
  • Tuesday, February 21 at 11:00 am given by Julia ParianSign Up
  • Saturday, February 25 at 11:00 am given by Jann ReedSign Up
View Calendar

Notes

Tour Length: Approximately 2 hours

 

Location

Meet near the giant rainbow flag – Market and Castro at Harvey Milk Plaza.

Note: Please check MUNI’s most current schedule.

 

Click the map to view full version on Google Maps
View Transit Directions on Google Maps >>

Please note: Private groups tours required for groups of 8 or more.