Castro: Tales Of The Village

Neighborhood: Castro

Description

When Harvey Milk won his historic 1977 race for the Board of Supervisors, he ran the campaign out of his humble Castro District camera shop. For the past decade, a vibrant gay community had been taking root in the Castro — one that would come to transform San Francisco politics out of sheer collective willpower.

But long before it popped onto the national stage, the Castro was just dairy farms and dirt roads. Follow its journey through Scandinavian, and Irish hands, immigrants who started businesses, social organizations and political groups to create a community of their own.

You’ll learn about the evolution of the Castro’s architecture, historic businesses and the people and places that played a role in making the Castro one of the epicenters of the gay rights movement — a tradition that continues today.

Next Tours

  • Saturday, February 24 at 11:00 am given by Julia P.Sign Up
  • Sunday, February 25 at 11:00 am given by Jann R.Sign Up
  • Tuesday, February 27 at 11:00 am given by Bonnie M.Sign Up
  • Saturday, March 2 at 11:00 am given by Kenan P.Sign Up
  • Sunday, March 3 at 11:00 am given by Marilyn F.Sign Up
  • Tuesday, March 5 at 11:00 am given by Bonnie M.Sign Up
  • Saturday, March 9 at 11:00 am given by Kenan P.Sign Up
  • Sunday, March 10 at 11:00 am given by Lisa R.Sign Up
  • Tuesday, March 12 at 11:00 am given by Bonnie M.Sign Up
  • Saturday, March 16 at 11:00 am given by Tracey A.Sign Up
View Calendar

Notes

Tour Length: Approximately 2 hours

 

Location

Meet near the giant rainbow flag – Market and Castro at Harvey Milk Plaza.

Note: Please check MUNI’s most current schedule.

 

Click the map to view full version on Google Maps
View Transit Directions on Google Maps >>

Please note: Private group tours required for groups of 8 or more.