Haight-Ashbury

Neighborhood: Haight-Ashbury

Description

It’s 1967 and the sun is shining on San Francisco. You’re walking through the Haight-Ashbury, weaving through groups of long-haired kids smoking joints and laughing. As you pass the legendary Straight Theater, you hear Jerry Garcia and the Dead letting loose a psychedelic storm of sound. You’re in the Hippie Capital of the world.

But the story of Haight-Ashbury is much more than just tie dye and bell-bottoms — it’s an epic cultural transformation spanning from the 1906 earthquake, through the Great Depression and World War II, all the way to the ‘60s. See where the counterculture was born, and learn how the area’s unique position and community enabled its growth. Bring a smile and plenty of good vibes.

 

Next Tours

  • Sunday, July 21 at 11:00 am given by Marc I.Sign Up
  • Wednesday, July 24 at 1:00 pm given by Michael M.Sign Up
  • Sunday, July 28 at 11:00 am given by Katie G.Sign Up
  • Wednesday, July 31 at 1:00 pm given by Michael M.Sign Up
  • Sunday, August 4 at 11:00 am given by Cathie S.Sign Up
  • Wednesday, August 7 at 1:00 pm given by Rodney P.Sign Up
  • Sunday, August 11 at 11:00 am given by Rodney P.Sign Up
  • Wednesday, August 14 at 11:00 am given by Cathie S.Sign Up
  • Sunday, August 18 at 11:00 am given by Marc I.Sign Up
  • Wednesday, August 21 at 1:00 pm given by Rodney P.Sign Up
View Calendar

Notes

Tour Length: Approximately 2 hours

Tour ends near Waller and Ashbury streets.

Location

Meet at the Park Branch Library, 1833 Page St.
Public transport: Lines “N”, 5, 7, 33, 43.

 

Click the map to view full version on Google Maps
View Transit Directions on Google Maps >>

Please note: Private group tours required for groups of 8 or more.