Japanese Tea Garden

Neighborhood: Golden Gate Park

Description

After the successful 1894 Mid-Winter Exposition San Francisco decided to keep the Japanese Village exhibit. Makoto Hagiwara was hired to be the new manager of the Garden and immediately set about expanding the Garden three-fold to its size today. At over three acres, it is the oldest public Japanese Garden in the United States, and it has a magnificent collection of plants and trees maintained in the Japanese style by a staff of professional gardeners.

An impressive variety of flora greets you as you enter a Japanese inspired wonderland of small scenes created throughout the Garden. The peace and quiet of the Garden encourages one to slow down and be mindful of the surroundings — beautiful botanical masterpieces. Stroll among the koi ponds and enjoy the ever-present skills of the gardeners as they present their carefully designed and shaped plant sculptures and rock arrangements representing real scenes from the outside world. Marvel at the structures of Japanese design — the tea room, gates without fasteners, and the magnificent pagoda, a relic from the 1915 World’s Fair in San Francisco. A perfect walk for those seeking a peaceful afternoon…

Next Tours

  • Sunday, September 26 at 1:00 pm given by Lisa Serafini
  • Monday, September 27 at 9:30 am given by Jay Streets
  • Monday, September 27 at 1:00 pm given by Christine Giordano
  • Tuesday, September 28 at 1:00 pm given by Hope Kang
  • Wednesday, September 29 at 9:30 am given by Christine Marr
  • Wednesday, September 29 at 1:00 pm given by Julie Hudson
  • Thursday, September 30 at 1:00 pm given by Beth Wichmann
  • Friday, October 1 at 9:30 am given by Don McLaurin
  • Friday, October 1 at 1:00 pm given by Miriam Nathanson
  • Saturday, October 2 at 1:00 pm given by Lisa Serafini
  • Sunday, October 3 at 1:00 pm given by Lisa Serafini
  • Monday, October 4 at 9:30 am given by MaryAnn Provence
  • Monday, October 4 at 1:00 pm given by Christine Giordano
  • Tuesday, October 5 at 1:00 pm given by Miriam Nathanson
  • Wednesday, October 6 at 9:30 am given by Christine Marr
  • Wednesday, October 6 at 1:00 pm given by Kristina Maiken
  • Thursday, October 7 at 1:00 pm given by Carolyn O’Brien
  • Friday, October 8 at 9:30 am given by Don McLaurin
  • Friday, October 8 at 1:00 pm given by Carolyn O’Brien
  • Saturday, October 9 at 1:00 pm given by Linda Ackerman
  • Sunday, October 10 at 1:00 pm given by Jay Streets
  • Monday, October 11 at 9:30 am given by Jay Streets
  • Monday, October 11 at 1:00 pm given by Leslie Finlev
  • Tuesday, October 12 at 1:00 pm given by Hope Kang
  • Wednesday, October 13 at 9:30 am given by Christine Marr
  • Wednesday, October 13 at 1:00 pm given by Beth Wichmann
  • Thursday, October 14 at 1:00 pm given by Marjory Kaplan
  • Friday, October 15 at 9:30 am given by Don McLaurin
  • Friday, October 15 at 1:00 pm given by Miriam Nathanson
  • Sunday, October 17 at 1:00 pm given by Jay Streets
  • Monday, October 18 at 9:30 am given by Jay Streets
  • Tuesday, October 19 at 1:00 pm given by Beth Wichmann
  • Wednesday, October 20 at 9:30 am given by Christine Marr
  • Wednesday, October 20 at 1:00 pm given by Marjory Kaplan
  • Friday, October 22 at 9:30 am given by Don McLaurin
  • Friday, October 22 at 1:00 pm given by Julie Hudson
  • Sunday, October 24 at 1:00 pm given by Jay Streets
  • Monday, October 25 at 9:30 am given by Jay Streets
  • Monday, October 25 at 1:00 pm given by Christine Giordano
  • Tuesday, October 26 at 1:00 pm given by Hope Kang
  • Wednesday, October 27 at 9:30 am given by Christine Marr
  • Wednesday, October 27 at 1:00 pm given by Beth Wichmann
  • Thursday, October 28 at 1:00 pm given by Robin Seeley
  • Friday, October 29 at 9:30 am given by Don McLaurin
  • Friday, October 29 at 1:00 pm given by Miriam Nathanson
  • Saturday, October 30 at 1:00 pm given by Marjory Kaplan
  • Sunday, October 31 at 1:00 pm given by Jay Streets
View Calendar

Schedule

Registration is not required for this tour. Garden admission required.

Notes

Tour Length: Approximately 1 hour.

Due to the San Francisco Mask mandate, masks are required when going into buildings.  Properties may also require proof of vaccination.

 

Location

Meet just inside the entrance to the garden.

Click the map to view full version on Google Maps
View Transit Directions on Google Maps >>

Please note: Private groups tours required for groups of 8 or more.